All dogs go to heaven

I love dogs. I have had a dog for most of my life. From Bowser (Heinz 57) to Tar (black lab) to Princess Toi (Samoyed) to Trax (golden retriever) and to Trappar (golden retriever), there has almost always been a trusty canine companion in my life.

While they were all special in their own unique ways, Trappar had the most difficult challenge. He was my therapy dog – twice. When I was diagnosed with my first cancer over ten years ago, we had just said good-bye to Trax. He was like a third son as our boys were 4 and 7 when we got the pup. He was 13 ½ when we said good bye.

I was kinda lonely for a few months and we decided to get another pup. Trappar came home with us. He was the last of his litter and he just fit right in from the moment we got him in the house. He was my therapy dog to help me start walking and getting more active after my surgery and treatments. He was friendly to everyone and was known around the neighbourhood. Many of my clients knew Trappar, and so did my students.

We walked every day, rain or sun, cold or hot. We were out the door pretty early even on the weekends. He was my “trusted advisor” and listened to every question, story, or challenge that I had. And his smile and willingness to offer a paw in support (and to get a cookie) were always what I needed.

When I got my second, and more serious stage 4 cancer diagnosis three and a half years ago, Trappar was even more important to just be there with me after the radiation, chemo, and immunotherapy treatments. He would sit with me, sleep beside me, and always kept an eye on me, especially when I would cough and struggle to breathe.

When I started to improve I started walking Trappar again. We eventually made it back to normal time and distance and I finished my treatments last summer.

Tim – 2…Cancer – 0.

Thanks Trappar (and of course my family, friends, and medical team).

Last weekend we noticed one of his eyes seemed a bit off. We took him to the vet and he was blind in one eye. We started some medication and in the course of three days he also lost sight in his good eye, became deaf, and lost his sense of smell. For a couple of days we were his “seeing eye humans.”

We were back at the vet on Friday afternoon, but I knew there was nothing we could do. We found out he had a brain tumour. We made the difficult decision to end his pain. It was the third time I carried one of my dogs into the comfort room. One last pat on the head and scratch behind the ears.

While I have wonderful memories, they cannot stop the pain in  my heart that was torn apart on Friday. I have important client work to do and a conference presentation upcoming. I must, and I will, move forward.

The vet staff were fantastic. And this is the real point of this post. In every job, in every situation, a person has a chance to make another person feel better. It is not just about solving a problem or taking an advantage of an opportunity. It is human interaction – not contrived. Honest and from the heart. Every business has a touchpoint where something positive, indeed at times magical, can occur. There was nothing medical that could fix Trappar, and the vet (who also cried) and the staff made sure Trappar, my wife, and me were as comfortable as possible.

Are your employees ready to do that?

  • My family is my drive to keep moving forward (I will keep working to be a better husband, brother, dad, grandfather, and uncle)
  • My medical teams were fantastic and caring – and I am grateful (I know the system often stinks and it is the people that are the difference – you have helped keep me here – twice)
  • My friends and colleagues and clients are my support – I am blessed (I will continue to provide what you need so your performance and life keeps getting better – even if it includes bad dad jokes)

I try and do my best all the time. Sometimes I fall short…but I will dust off and come back stronger and better for everyone I meet.

Everybody in every company has a story. Everybody has a chance to do something positive. Who are you driving to serve? Your success comes when your solution benefits your client (internal and external). They define what is valuable. You need to identify those factors and deliver. Or recommend someone who can.

Only then can you create almost twenty-four years of golden memories like I have.

Trax and Trappar…same spot…never met.

Early morning fetch at Clear Lake

Thanks for being such a good boy, Trappar.

Onward!

Leave a comment